Knowledgebase: Extensions' Manuals
Advanced Permissions User Manual
Posted by Denis Krupkov on 02 April 2013 03:28 PM
The manual contains the information on how to operate with the extension.

1. How to find the module in the admin area

To set permissions on your catalog, you need to create a new or edit an existing role

2. Permissions to default modules

Once you set all the necessary permissions on the “Role Resources” page, switch to the “Advanced Permissions" tab.

If you would like to provide access for product management, please make sure that “Manage Products” action is available for the role.

If you would like to provide access to CMS and Reports sections, please make sure that the appropriate actions are available for the role.

3. Advanced permissions

If you would like to limit access by store views, please choose “Limit Access to Store Views/Categories” option, then select one or several store views and corresponding product categories available for the role.

Checking this setting will let your restricted Administrator edit global attributes for available products in the checked Stores/Categories.

This setting will let you restrict the sub-admin to manage and see only products, created by the sub-admin user. IMPORTANT! Global settings (section 7) can override the setting.

3. Advanced permissions

If you would like to limit access by websites for sections, chosen at the previous page, please choose “Limit Access to Websites” option, then select one or several websites.

Checking this setting will let your restricted Administrator edit global attributes for available products in the checked Websites.

4. Assign the role to a user

Now you can assign the role to a user at the System > Permissions > Users > Edit User page

5. Staff View

Only one store view (or website) is available to the user with restricted permissions

The system shows products from allowed categories only.

6. Staff view – Edit products

The system shows available categories only

By default the module hides the “Delete” button for a user with restricted permissions.
To remove the product from store front end they need to set Visibility attribute to “Nowhere”

7. Settings

A user can see either all products or products in available categories only. This setting overrides the setting “Allow manage own products only” (in edit Role -> Advanced Permissions).

The module gives an ability for a store owner to either allow or disallow deleting products, product images and categories per Store-view or per whole Website for users with restricted permissions.

Store owner can set whether restricted user will be able to view all customers or only those who are registered within available website.

8. Products Approve

In System->Configuration->Advanced->Admin->Products Approve you can find additional settings for switching on/off Products approval functionality. If the setting is on (“Yes”), then all new products, created by sub-admin users will automatically get “awaiting approve” status. Only super-admin will be able to enable such products. After such new product is enabled by super-admin, no further approval for edits will be necessary. Super-admin will be able to filter “Awaiting approve” products in the product grid.

Switch the setting on, if you need all new products, created by sub-admin to be approved by super-admin

You can enter a custom e-mail, where super-admin will receive notifications about new products awaiting approval. As specified in the note below the field, if left empty, the notifications will be sent to the standard admin sales e-mail

(30 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below. This is required to prevent automated registrations and form submissions.

Help Desk Software by Kayako Resolve